top of page
Recent Posts

SOULSISTER WEEKLY BLOG


Spotlighting Today's Creative Soulful Ladies, For A Dynamic Futuristic Tomorrow

CREATIVE BAKER, PASTERY ARTIST & ENTREPRENEUR: Quinnesha Alverez

HOMETOWN:NEW ORLEANS, LA

Business: La Petite ConfectionsLocation: New Orleans, LA Email:lapetiteconfections@gmail.com

Instagram: la_petite_confections

Faceboook:lapetiteconfections Motto:Custom Sweets for Every Occasion Phone:(504)214-0112

Tell the readers a little about your self?

My name is Quinnesha Alverez, and I am a Certified Pastry Chef. I graduated top of my class from the Le Cordon Bleu in Pittsburgh, Pa, in 2008. I was born in New Orleans, LA, but I have traveled and lived in many places across the country. I am a Veteran of the US Army and a mother to one of the most amazing kids I have ever had the pleasure to know.

If someone walked up to you asking for your advice in getting into creative baking, and you only had a few minutes to give your best tip?

The best advice I have for anyone wanting to get into this industry is to build a solid foundation by educating themselves in baking principles as well as in how to decorate and design. With a solid foundation comes the ability to go in any direction with your work. Also, if possible, have a baking friend that you can call upon for help if you get in the weeds and vice versa. Life happens and its good to have someone you know can lend a helping hand.

How do you balance your time being a business lady and a mom?

Time management is always key when being a one woman show…LOL! I am able to be successful by creating timelines and production schedules for myself. Finding a work life balance can be difficult when being a full time mom. However, it’s a challenge most women face. Owning my own business definitely demands more of my time, but it allows me the flexibility in my schedule that I never had before. It’s a nice trade off!

What is your proudest achievement?

My proudest professional achievement was a cake I created from the Icing Smiles Organization. Icing Smiles gathers cake artists from all over the nation to voluntarily provide custom cakes for very ill children and their siblings. It’s a wonderful organization to belong to! I was called upon to create a cake for a boy who LOVED Knights, and so my Knight in Shining Armor was born. It was a total hit with the little boy and his family. What a feeling to know that I can bring so much happiness to someone, and make them forget about everything else…even if its just for a short while.

Where doe your Creative SOUL for baking come from?

My creativity comes from any and everything! I can find inspiration in anything from Runway fashion to geometric and textile prints to nature. With wedding cakes and themed parties I often find inspiration in the dress, invitation, or the venue itself.


Follow Us
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page